Watch June 15 2011 Total Lunar Eclipse Live Right Here!

lunar,eclipse,live,total,15,2011,visible,watch,eastern,june

NASA Coverage Map For June 15 2011 Total Lunar Eclipse

Tonight, June 15, 2011 will be the first total lunar eclipse of 2011, which you can watch live here. The astronomical event is set to put on a one hour and forty minute spectacle for much of the world to see, and will be the longest in almost 11 years. The fact that it won’t be visible in North America, doesn’t mean you won’t be able to watch the event on Wednesday June 15, 2011 though, as you can watch it live right here!

According to Space.com, the event will begin about 1:24 p.m. EDT (1724 GMT) and finish around 7 p.m. EDT (2300 GMT). The event will peak at 4:12 p.m. EDT (2012 GMT).

Live Video Feed Of Event:

According to the AP, the moment of totality, which is when the Earth’s shadow completely blocks the moon, will last 1 hour and 40 minutes during tonight’s event. The last time a event lasted as long was in July 2000, when totality occurred for just 7 minutes longer than this years event.

The event will be visible from the eastern half of Africa, the Middle East, Central Asia and western Australia, a NASA expert told reporters. Europe will miss the beginning of the lunar eclipse because it will be below the horizon, but totality can be witnessed from across the continent except for northern Scotland and northern Scandinavia. Totality will also be visible from eastern Brazil, Uruguay and Argentina. Eastern Asia, eastern Australia and New Zealand will miss the end of the astronomical event because the moon will have already set in those areas.

NASA map of viewing area for the event

Despite not being visible from North America, anyone unable to see the event in their own sky can watch online. Sky Watchers Association Of North Bengal (SWAN) will be a doing a live webcast of the entire show which is available here!

According to NASA, the next event of this kind will happen on December 10, though only certain parts of the U.S. including Hawaii and the Pacific Northwest will be able to see that lunar event. For the rest of the U.S, the next one won’t be visible until April 15, 2014, so thank God for the internet and live streaming!

We hope you enjoy and watch the total lunar eclipse tonight on June 15, 2011 and the live video we have for you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.